Conference on Defects in solids for quantum technologies (DSQT2020) (June 8-12, 2020, Stockholm, Sweden)

Royal palace in Stockholm

The DSQT conference aims bringing together world-leading theoreticians and experimentalists active in the field of quantum devices based on solid state qubits to improve interdisciplinary cooperation overcoming traditional boundaries between scientific disciplines.

Quantum devices of the next generation are expected to actively create, manipulate and read out quantum states of matter. Point defect quantum states in wide band gap semiconductors may realize single photon sources and quantum bits that can be harnessed in quantum information processing and nanoscale sensor applications which may revolutionize the info-communication technology, biological research and therapy. The leading contender is the nitrogen-vacancy center in diamond which may be considered as a robust quantum tool. However, possibility to realize bright single-photon emitters, and single spin sources (single defects with spin) in SiC have been demonstrated, and other materials, e.g. III-nitrides (BN, GaN, AlN) are attracting increasing interest. Researchers face many materials science problems in fabricating point defect quantum states with favourable intrinsic properties that can be perturbed by other defects either in bulk or at the surface of the devices. Theoretical simulations have been demonstrated as highly useful tool in understanding the underlying physics of these atomic scale systems as well as in identification of potential new quantum bits and single photon emitters in wide band gap semiconductors. Therefore, tight collaboration of experimental and atomistic simulation researchers is essential for a rapid progress in the field.

The information regarding the conference will be continuously updated.

Invited speakers
Show/Hide content


Igor Aharonovich (University of Technology Sydney)

Stefania Castelletto (RMIT University)

Marcus W. Doherty (Australian National University)

Mike Ford (University of Technology Sydney)


Michael Trupke (University of Vienna)


Milos Nesladek (Hasselt University)


Georgy Astakhov (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf)

Christoph Becher (Universität des Saarlandes)

Vladimir Dyakonov (University of Würzburg)

Christoph Freysoldt (Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung)

Uwe Gerstmann (University of Paderborn)

Fedor Jelezko (University of Ulm)

Jan Meijer (Universität Leipzig)

Jörg Wrachtrup (University of Stuttgart)


Gergő Thiering (Wigner Research Centre for Physics)


Alex Retzker (Hebrew University of Jerusalem)


Audrius Alkauskas (Center for Physical Sciences and Technology Lithuania)


Romana Schirhagl (Groeningen University)

South Korea

Hosung Seo (Ajou University)


Rickard Armiento (Linköping University)

Vanya Darakchieva (Linköping University)

Jawad Ul-Hassan (Linköping University)

United Kingdom

Helena S. Knowles (Cambridge University)

John Morton (University College London)


David Awschalom (University of Chicago)

Lee Bassett (University of Pennsylvania)

Paula Cappellaro (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)

Nathalie P. de Leon (Princeton University)

Chris Van deWalle (University of California)

Sophia Economou (Virginia Polytechnic Institute)

Giulia Galli (University of Chicago)

Carlos A. Meriles (CUNY-City College of New York)

Rachael L. Myers-Ward (Naval Research Laboratory)

Prineha Narang (Harvard University)

Yuan Ping (University of California)

Öney O. Soykal (US Naval Research Laboratory)

Brenda L. VanMil (Army Research Laboratory)

Jelena Vuckovic (Stanford University)

Show/Hide content

Session index

Monday, June 8th

08:20-12:40 S1 Density functional theory for point defect quantum technologies
14:00-18:20 S2 Point defect qubit applications – experiment

Tuesday, June 9th

08:00-12:40 S3 Point defect qubit applications – theory
14:00-18:20 S4 Qubits and single photon emitters in SiC – experiment and theory
18:40-22:00 P1 Poster session

Wednesday, June 10th

08:00-10:00 S4 Qubits and single photon emitters in SiC – experiment and theory
10:20-15:20 S5 Qubits and single photon emitters in diamond (other than NV center) – experiment and theory
15:20-18:20 S6 Color centers in nano particles – theory, experiment, and applications
18:40-22:00 P2 Poster session

Thursday, June 11th

08:00-11:20 S7 Single photon emitters in hBN – experiment
11:20-12:40 S8 Qubits in hBN - experiment and theory
14:00-15:00 Round table discussion
15:20-22:00 Excursion, boat trip and dinner

Friday, June 12th

08:00 -12:40 S9 Single photon emitters in hBN - theory
10:00-12:40 S11 Material growth for qubit applications
14:00-15:40 S10 Color centers in other wide band gap materials
16:00-18:00 S11 Material growth for qubit applications

Show/Hide content

Registration is now open.

Early bird registration fee 4000 SEK + VAT, regular registration fee 5000 SEK + VAT. 

Register here.

Payment details
Show/Hide content

Details to be announced.

Abstract submission
Show/Hide content

Deadline for submission: March 9, 2020 23:59 CET

Instructions for preparing your abstract can be found in the abstract templates: tex docx.

For submission, fill out this form, upload your abstract file in pdf format, and click submit button.

Show/Hide content

The conference will take place at Stockholm University - AlbaNova University Centre, Roslagstullsbacken 21, 114 21 Stockholm, Sweden. Map.

More information about AlbaNova

Show/Hide content

  • Prof. Igor Abrikosov, Linköping University, Sweden
  • Prof. Adam Gali, Wigner Research Centre for Physics, Budapest, Hungary
  • Dr. Viktor Ivády, Wigner Research Centre for Physics, Budapest, Hungary
  • Prof. Nguyen Tien Son, Linköping University, Linköping Sweden
  • Prof. Tomas Frauenheim, Technical University Dresden, Dresden, Germany
  • Prof. Mohamed Bourennane, Stockholm University, Stockholm, Sweden

Financed by
Show/Hide content