The organisation of Linköping University (LiU) differs from the typical organisational model used at most European universities. At LiU there are multidisciplinary departments, reporting directly to the vice-chancellor and covering several adjacent academic disciplines, with the aim of facilitating contact across boundaries.

University Board

The University Board is the highest decision-making body at the university. It is responsible to the government for ensuring that Linköping University meets its objectives. The Board takes decisions regarding budget, policies, etc.

Lena Sommestad, Governor of Halland County in Sweden, is chair of the Board, which also includes representatives of the general public (companies, organisations, etc.), operations (i.e. LiU staff) and students.

Vice-chancellor and Management

The vice-chancellor is the University’s top executive official, appointed by the government to lead operations at LiU. Since 2011 Helen Dannetun, professor of physics, is vice-chancellor of Linköping University. The University Management also includes deputy vice-chancellors of education, research and external relations respectively. Their role is to act on behalf of the vice-chancellor on various occasions. The university director, whose responsibilities include staff and administration, is also part of the management group.

Internal Audit

The Internal Audit reports directly to the University Board. Its role is to review the university’s governance and accounts and suggest improvements.


Linköping University has four faculties: the Faculty of Arts and Sciences, the Faculty of Educational Sciences, the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences and the Faculty of Science and Engineering (sometimes known as the Institute of Technology). Formally, Educational Sciences is an “area”, but in most cases it functions as a faculty. In some ceremonial contexts, LiU is considered to have three faculties, with Educational Sciences falling under Arts and Sciences. The faculty is responsible for education and research within its area and at LiU it commissions services from the departments. It is run by a faculty board and its top executive official is the dean.


The actual education and research is conducted at the departments. LiU’s organisation differs from the typical organisational model used at most European universities. LiU has large multidisciplinary departments that incorporate several adjacent disciplines, with the aim of facilitating contact across disciplinary boundaries. For example the Department of Management and Engineering encompasses fields such as economics, business administration and business law, as well as industrial economics, solid mechanics and logistics. There are 14 multidisciplinary departments at Linköping University.

The departments report directly to the vice-chancellor, not to the faculties which is the case at many other universities. A department can be commissioned to conduct education and research by different faculties.

The department is run by a board. The head of department is its top executive official.

Library and Services

The University Library and University Services support LiU’s core business: education and research. The library offers extensive collections and information services via four libraries, one on each campus. University Services is headed by the university director and handles central services within finance, IT, human resources, press contacts, educational information, etc.

LiU Holding

Linköpings universitet Holding AB, LiU Holding, is owned by the University. It helps to make new research accessible by bringing it to market. LiU Holding runs the enterprises LiU Innovation, LiU Relation, Spetsa, Unitalent and Lead.


Organisation Tree

Show all

Linköping University

More about the University Board