AFM 2022: The 4th Conference on Advanced Functional Materials      29-31 August

The film in the new perovskite transfers both text and images, rapidly and reliably
The film in the new perovskite transfers both text and images, rapidly and reliably Thor Balkhed

The goal of the AFM2022 conference is to highlight research within the area of Advanced Functional Materials, to establish new projects and collaborations, and to discuss challenges and opportunities within materials sciences, in the Nordic countries and internationally.


Materials science of novel ceramics, metals, polymers, organic compounds, nanotechnology, advanced surfaces. Examples:

  • novel high-performance soft, hard, and hybrid smart materials
  • photovoltaic energy conversion with polymeric solar cells
  • reduced friction in engines
  • efficient light sources
  • new materials for scalable electrical energy storage in a low-carbon economy is addressed by utilization of renewable biopolymers
  • Modeling and data-driven design of advanced materials



With a support from a Strategic Area Grant provided by the Swedish Government, Linkoping University has established an International Interdisciplinary Laboratory for Advanced Functional Materials (AFM).

AFM encompasses 240 researchers organized into interactive collaborating teams. We envision that science focused on the atomic/molecular-scale design of new materials will provide solutions to broadly-based societal issues, including jobs, health, energy, environment, and sustainability.

More information on the Strategic Research Area “Advanced Functional Materials”, including staff active within, please visit our AFM homepage at Linköping University.

Registration and information Show/Hide content

Registration and Abstract submission

Registration and abstract submission for the AFM2022 is now closed.

If you have any queries about abstracts and presentations, please contact Caroline Brommesson.

AFM conference 2018AFM conference 2018


The AFM 2022 conference is organised by International Interdisciplinary Laboratory for Advanced Functional Materials (AFM) at Linköping University.

Organising committee

  • Caroline Brommesson
  • Eleni Stavrinidou
  • Sergei Simak
  • Kajsa Uvdal
  • Jens Birch

Venue and time

The conference will be held 29-31 August. The venue for AFM2022 is Vildmarkshotellet, Kolmården, Norrköping, Sweden.


Most welcome to participate as exhibitor at the AFM 2022! For details and more information please contact the organisers.

Keynote speakers Show/Hide content

Prof. Claudine Katan

Prof. Antonio F Facchetti

Prof. Marcela Bilek

Prof. Ganpati Ramanath

Prof. Mathias Schubert

Prof. Istvan Furo

Prof. Fredrik Heintz

Contact Show/Hide content

Organisers Show/Hide content