Photo of Feng Wang

Feng Wang

Associate Professor, Head of Unit, Docent

I am a materials chemist, working on developing novel materials for renewable energy areas.


Dr. Feng Wang has been working as an associate professor at Linköping University since 2023. Before that, he was Assistant Professor (2015-2017) and Marie Skłodowska-Curie Individual Fellow (2013-2015) at Linköping. He received his Docent from Linköping in 2022, and his PhD from the Chinese University of Hong Kong in 2012. He was a Visiting Postdoc at the École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) in Switzerland in 2017-2018.

He has received research grants from the following funding organizations: Swedish Research Council (VR), Vinnova, EU Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions, STINT, Carl Tryggers Foundation (CTS), FORMAS, Olle Engkvists Stiftelse.

Feng Wang has been a frequent reviewer for funding organizations, including the EU Horizon MSCA program and the National Science Centre of Poland.

He is also a co-founder of the start-up company LinXole AB, which commercializes stable hole transport materials that can significantly extend the lifetime of new-generation solar cells.


Lead-based perovskite solar cells

Hybrid organic-inorganic perovskites with the formula ABX3 (where A is an organic cation, B is a metal dication and X is a halide anion) hold great promise for providing the clean energy deployment and security needed to meet decarbonization goals. They have achieved great success as photovoltaic materials with high efficiency in energy conversion. Even more attractive, they are adjustable in the bandgap, lightweight and flexible, and can be produced using low-cost processes compatible with printing manufacturing. These properties qualify them as perfect candidates for building-integrated photovoltaics (BIPV) and many mobility applications such as vehicles, boats and airplanes where conventional silicon solar cells cannot be used. My research is mainly focused on improving the operational stability of perovskite solar cells. See relevant publications in Advanced MaterialsAdvanced Functional Materials, and a review paper about the defects in halide perovskites npj Flexible Electronics.

Doped organic semiconductors

Organic semiconductors play a crucial role in all types of optoelectronic devices, including perovskite solar cells. Their unique advantages such as excellent flexibility, good solubility in organic solvents, and easy processing in solutions make them promising candidates for flexible devices. However, organic molecules are generally insulating and not good for charge collection and transport properties. My research interests focus on developing new and stable doping strategies to enhance their performance in optoelectronic devices. See relevant publications in Science

Lead-free perovskite solar cells

Despite the exciting advances in lead-based perovskite solar cells, the current reliance on toxic Pb in perovskite materials is a key problem on the path to commercialization of these cells. To address this issue, I am also interested in the development of novel lead-free perovskite materials, including tin (Sn)-based perovskites and double perovskites. See relevant publications in Angewandte ChemieAdvanced Materials, and a review paper about the challenges and progress in lead-free halide double perovskite Solar RRL.


I have co-authored 60 peer-reviewed publications (over 7500 citations; h-index 39) and a book chapter (Elsevier)


Xiaoqiang An, Tingcha Wei, Peijia Ding, Li-Min Liu, Lunqiao Xiong, Junwang Tang, Jiani Ma, Feng Wang, Huijuan Liu, Jiuhui Qu (2023) Sodium-Directed Photon-Induced Assembly Strategy for Preparing Multisite Catalysts with High Atomic Utilization Efficiency Journal of the American Chemical Society, Vol. 145, p. 1759-1768 Continue to DOI
Fuxiang Ji, Johan Klarbring, Bin Zhang, Feng Wang, Linqin Wang, Xiaohe Miao, Weihua Ning, Muyi Zhang, Xinyi Cai, Babak Bakhit, Martin Magnuson, Xiaoming Ren, Licheng Sun, Mats Fahlman, Irina A Buyanova, Weimin Chen, Sergei I Simak, Igor A. Abrikosov, Feng Gao (2023) Remarkable Thermochromism in the Double Perovskite Cs2NaFeCl6 Advanced Optical Materials, Article 2301102 Continue to DOI
Fuxiang Ji, Gerrit Boschloo, Feng Wang, Feng Gao (2023) Challenges and Progress in Lead-Free Halide Double Perovskite Solar Cells Solar RRL, Vol. 7, Article 2201112 Continue to DOI
Fuxiang Ji, Bin Zhang, Weimin Chen, Irina A Buyanova, Feng Wang, Gerrit Boschloo (2023) Amine Gas‐Induced Reversible Optical Bleaching of Bismuth‐Based Lead‐Free Perovskite Thin Films Advanced Science, Vol. 11, Article 2306391 Continue to DOI
Yang Zhou, Simone C. W. van Laar, Daniele Meggiolaro, Luca Gregori, Samuele Martani, Jia-Yong Heng, Kunal Datta, Jesus Jimenez-Lopez, Feng Wang, E. Laine Wong, Isabella Poli, Antonella Treglia, Daniele Cortecchia, Mirko Prato, Libor Kobera, Feng Gao, Ni Zhao, Rene A. J. Janssen, Filippo De Angelis, Annamaria Petrozza (2023) How Photogenerated I<sub>2</sub> Induces I-Rich Phase Formation in Lead Mixed Halide Perovskites Advanced Materials Continue to DOI