The University Board is the highest decision-making body at the university.

It is responsible to the government for ensuring that Linköping University, LiU, meets its objectives. The board takes decisions regarding budget, annual report, LiU's organisation, etc. It also appoints deputy vice-chancellors (“prorektorer” in Swedish), and proposes to the government whom it should appoint as vice-chancellor.

The University Board has external members who are representatives of companies and organisations, as well as academic staff and students who are representatives of the university.

External members are appointed from 1 May 2023 to 30 September 2024.

Members of the University Board

ChairPhoto credit Anna Nilsen. Susanne Thedéen.

  • Susanne Thedéen, Deputy director general, Swedish National Heritage Board


  • Jan-Ingvar Jönsson, professor

General representatives

  • Dilsa Demirbag-Sten, Secretary General, Berättarministeriet

  • Hans Holmström, CEO, Siemens
  • Magnus Höij, consultant
  • Betty Malmberg, former Member of Parliament
  • Staffan Sarbäck, former University Director and Senior Advisor, Luleå University of Technology

  • Stig Slørdahl, Managing Director, Helse Midt-Norge RHF

  • Ulrika Unell, Head of Strategy, Affairs and Public Relations, Tekniska verken

Academic staff representatives

  • Michael Felsberg, professor, Department of Electrical Engineering
  • Markus Heilig, professor, Department of Biomedical and Clinical Sciences
  • Elin Wihlborg, professor, Department of Management and Engineering

Student representatives

  • Filippa Alesand Lundin, Chair, Consensus (Union for students at Medicine and Health Sciences)
  • Ellen Ivarius Andersson, Chair, StuFF (Union for students at Educational Sciences and Faculty of Arts and Sciences)
  • Eira Movin, Chair, LinTek (Union of Technology and Science Students)

Employee representatives

  • SACO: Krzysztof Marciniak (alternate Janerik Lundquist)
  • OFR/S: Ingo Hölscher (alternate Maria Hugo Lindén)
  • SEKO-Civil: Rosmarie Dahlström

Co-opted members

  • Karin Axelsson, Deputy Vice-Chancellor
  • Per-Olof Brehmer, University director
  • Magdalena Neijd, PhD student

Photo credit Anna Nilsen, Members of the University Board.

Contact the secretary of the University Board

University Management at LiU