Photo of Grzegorz Greczynski

Grzegorz Greczynski

Professor, Head of Unit

Head of the Fundamental Science of Thin Films unit at the Department of Physics, Chemistry and Biology, LiU. Expert in high power impulse magnetron sputtering (HiPIMS) and X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy (XPS)


My research interests are presently focused on low-energy ion/surface interactions (including both gas and metal ions) for nanostructure control during low-temperature growth of transition-metal-based nitride, boride, and carbide thin films by physical vapor deposition. In addition, I'm active in the field of X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy (XPS), with the aim to develop nondestructive analysis methods and to increase reliability of the technique.

I received my MSc degree in Materials Physics in 1997 from University of Science and Technology, Krakow, Poland as well as from Linköping University, Sweden.

In 2001 I obtained PhD in Materials Physics for the thesis “Photoelectron Spectroscopy Studies of Conjugated Polymer Surfaces and Interfaces for Organic-based Light Emitting Devices” under supervision of Prof. William R. Salaneck and the opponent was Prof. Hans Siegbahn.

Between 2001 and 2008 I worked in industry, first for Thin Film Electronics AB and later for Chemfilt Ionsputtering AB. The latter company pioneered the novel magnetron sputtering technique - high-power impulse magnetron sputtering (HiPIMS or HPPMS) which has become very popular in the recent years.

In 2009, I rejoined academia as an Assistant Professor of Thin Film Physics working with Professor Lars Hultman. My close collaborators are Professors Joe Greene and Ivan Petrov from University of Illinois (USA) and Professor Jochen Schneider from Aachen University (Germany).

In 2018 I was nominated Fellow of the American Vacuum Society for "seminal contributions to nondestructive XPS surface analysis, and the development of novel next-generation HiPIMS metal-ion deposition techniques".



Grzegorz Greczynski, Lars Hultman, Ivan Petrov (2023) Towards lowering energy consumption during magnetron sputtering: Benefits of high-mass metal ion irradiation Journal of Applied Physics, Vol. 134, Article 140901 Continue to DOI
Zhixing Wu, Mikhail Vagin, Robert Boyd, Penghui Ding, Per Leanderson, Ivan Kozyatnyk, Grzegorz Greczynski, Magnus Odén, Emma Björk (2023) Effect of Product Removal in Hydrogen Peroxide Electrosynthesis on Mesoporous Chromium(III) Oxide ACS Applied Nano Materials, Vol. 6, p. 18748-18756 Continue to DOI
Susmita Chowdhury, Victor Hjort, Rui Shu, Grzegorz Greczynski, Arnaud Le Febvrier, Per Eklund, Martin Magnuson (2023) Thermoelectric properties and electronic structure of Cr(Mo,V)Nx thin films studied by synchrotron and lab-based x-ray spectroscopy Physical Review B, Vol. 108, Article 205134 Continue to DOI
Vladyslav Rogoz, Oleksandr Pshyk, Bartosz Wicher, Justinas Palisaitis, Jun Lu, Daniel Primetzhofer, Ivan Petrov, Lars Hultman, Grzegorz Greczynski (2023) High-mass metal ion irradiation enables growth of high-entropy sublattice nitride thin films from elemental targets Journal of Vacuum Science & Technology. A. Vacuum, Surfaces, and Films, Vol. 41, Article 063108 Continue to DOI
Grzegorz Greczynski, Oleksandr Pshyk, Lars Hultman (2023) Toward an increased reliability of chemical bonding assignment in insulating samples by x-ray photoelectron spectroscopy Science Advances, Vol. 9, Article eadi3192 Continue to DOI