Photo of Anders Eklund

Anders Eklund

Senior Associate Professor

I am an associate professor and share my time between the Department of Biomedical Engineering (IMT) and the Department of Computer and Information Science (IDA).

Development of new methods for medical images

My research is about analyzing medical images and developing new methods (image processing, statistics, machine learning) for extracting important information from the images.


About me


  • 2007 Master of Science, applied physics & electrical engineering 
  • 2012 PhD, medical informatics
  • 2012-2014 Postdoc, Virginia Tech
  • 2016 Docent, medical informatics
  • 2021 Associate Professor



Johan Jönemo, Anders Eklund (2023) Brain Age Prediction Using 2D Projections Based on Higher-Order Statistical Moments and Eigenslices from 3D Magnetic Resonance Imaging Volumes Journal of Imaging, Vol. 9, p. 271-271 Continue to DOI
Deneb Boito, Anders Eklund, Anders Tisell, Richard Levi, Evren Özarslan, Ida Blystad (2023) MRI with generalized diffusion encoding reveals damaged white matter in patients previously hospitalized for COVID-19 and with persisting symptoms at follow-up Brain Communications, Vol. 5, Article fcad284 Continue to DOI
Jörg Schilcher, Alva Nilsson, Oliver Andlid, Anders Eklund (2023) Fusion of electronic health records and radiographic images for a multimodal deep learning prediction model of atypical femur fractures Computers in Biology and Medicine, Vol. 168, Article 107704 Continue to DOI
Christoforos Spyretos, Iulian Emil Tampu, Anders Eklund, Neda Haj-Hosseini (2023) Classification of Brain Tumour Tissue in Histopathology Images Using Deep Learning
Johan Jönemo, Muhammad Usman Akbar, Robin Kämpe, J. Paul Hamilton, Anders Eklund (2023) Efficient Brain Age Prediction from 3D MRI Volumes Using 2D Projections Brain Sciences, Vol. 13, Article 1329 Continue to DOI


Supervisor of Doctoral Students

Co-Supervisor of Doctoral Students

PhD Graduates (Co-Supervisor)

Olivier Cros, 2017

Jens Sjölund, 2018

Per Sidén, 2020

PhD Graduates (Main Supervisor)

Xuan Gu, 2019

Marco Domenico Cirillo, 2021

David Abramian, 2023