Presentation Director of research

Per Dannetun's job is to help provide overall strategic leadership and management of the university.

In his role, Dr Dannetun is responsible for ensuring that the vice-chancellor and University Board get the information they require on his area. As director of research, he also has overall responsibility for the university's relations with Region Östergötland.

CV and assignments


  • Since 2011 Director of research, Linköping University
  • 2007-2010 Deputy director, External relations, Linköping University
  • 2003-2008 Process manager, research, Linköping University
  • 2000-2003 Head of department, Electronics packaging, Acreo-Norrköping
  • 1997-2000 Head of faculty office, Dean’s Office, Faculty of Science and Engineering, Linköping University
  • 1995-1997 Research officer, TFR, now part of Swedish Research Council
  • 1994-1995 Post-doc Université Paris 6 & 7

External duties and networks

  • 2018- Board member, Wallenberg Wood Science Center, WWSC 2.0
  • 2017- Board member, Digital Cellulose Center, DCC
  • 2017- Board member, Treesearch, a Vinnova collaboration platform
  • 2016- Member of management group, Joint Research Center in Guangzhu, China
  • 2016- Board member SNIC, Swedish National Infrastructure for Computing
  • 2016- Board member Barnafrid, a national knowledge center with the aim of assembling knowledge about violence and abuses against children
  • 2016-2017 Board member, National Supercomputer Centre, NSC
  • 2015- Board member, National Center for Priority Setting in Health Care
  • 2015- Chairman of the board, AFM, Strategic research area in materials at LiU
  • 2015- National coordination group, Wallenberg Molecular medicine


  • 2014- LiU’s representative in YEURUN, a European university network
  • 2014- Reference group, Max IV
  • 2014- Reference group, national infrastructure (Swedish Research Council)
  • 2012- Board member, Laboratory for Regenerative Medicine
  • 2011- Collaborative preparatory committee LiU – Region Östergötland (Chairman alternating years)
  • 2010- Board member, LiU Fund of U
  • 2010- Chairman of the board, FunMat – a VINN Excellence Center
  • 2010-2013 Board member, AgroÖst AB
  • 2002-2003 Board member, Addmarkable AB
  • 2001-2003 Chairman of the board, Bokakademin i Östergötland AB
  • 1999- Board member, Forskarpatent AB
  • 1995-1997 Member of NFR’s energy committee
  • 1995-2015 Member of Swedish Institute’s research board



Per Berglund, Per Dannetun, Wai Lee Chan, Julie Gold, Sam Han, Heidi Hansson, Simon Harvey, Jun Song Huang, Ann-Charlotte Larsson, Steven Linton, Gerald McInerney, Marie Magnell, Oleg Popov, Nils-Hassan Quttineh, Tobias Richards, Juha Song, Adam D. Switzer, Kristina Tegler Jerselius, Susanne Vikström, Martin Wikström, Kang Yang Trevor Yu, Jesvin Puay-Hwa Yeo, Nabil Zary, Hans Pohl, Ulf Ellervik (2019) Linking Education and Research: A Roadmap for Higher Education Institutions at the Dawn of the Knowledge Society



Research Support Division

Related Content