Erik G. Larsson is Professor and Head of the Division for Communication Systems in the Department of Electrical Engineering (ISY) at Linköping University (LiU) in Linköping, Sweden. He joined LiU in September 2007. He has previously held positions at the Royal Institute of Technology (KTH) in Stockholm, University of Florida, George Washington University (USA), and Ericsson Research (Stockholm). He received his Ph.D. from Uppsala University in 2002. In the spring of 2015 he was a Visiting Fellow at Princeton University, USA, for four months.
His main professional interests are within the areas of wireless communications and signal processing. He has published some 160 journal papers on these topics, he is co-author of the two Cambridge University Press textbooks Space-Time Block Coding for Wireless Communications (2003) and Fundamentals of Massive MIMO (2016) and he holds 19 issued and many pending patents on wireless technology.
He has served as Associate Editor for several major journals, including the IEEE Transactions on Communications (2010-2014) and IEEE Transactions on Signal Processing (2006-2010). During 2015-2016 he served as chair of the IEEE Signal Processing Society SPCOM technical committee, and in 2017 he was the past chair of this committee. He served chair of the steering committee for the IEEE Wireless Communications Letters in 2014-2015. He was the General Chair of the Asilomar Conference on Signals, Systems and Computers in 2015, and the Technical Chair in 2012. He is a member of the IEEE Signal Processing Society Awards Board during 2017-2019, and a member of the IEEE Signal Processing Magazine editorial board during 2018-2020. He serves on the steering committee of the IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications, 2019-2022.
He received the IEEE Signal Processing Magazine Best Column Award twice, in 2012 and 2014, and the IEEE ComSoc Stephen O. Rice Prize in Communications Theory in 2015, the IEEE ComSoc Leonard G. Abraham prize in 2017, the IEEE ComSoc Best Tutorial Paper Award in 2018, and the IEEE ComSoc Fred W. Ellersick Prize in 2019. He is a Fellow of the IEEE.


Teaching (recent):


- communication theory and wireless systems
- multiple-antenna (MIMO) technology for wireless, especially massive (large-scale) MIMO
- statistical signal processing
- (cooperative) source localization
- security and privacy in communications, navigation and storage systems
- network science

  • Current research sponsors: Swedish Foundation for Strategic Research (SSF); STINT; ELLIIT; Security-Link

  • Previous research sponsors: Swedish Royal Academy of Sciences (KVA) rådsforskartjänst, 2007-2012, SSF Framtidens forskningsledare (2008-2013), U.S. National Science Foundation (theoretical foundations program), Oak Ridge Associated Universities (ORAU), Wireless@KTH. My group was partner in FP7-SENDORA (2008-2010), FP7-LOLA (2010-2012) and FP7-SAPHYRE (2010-2012) and  FP7-MAMMOET (2014-2016). We were also partner in H2020-ITN-5G-Wireless (2015-2018). I held a distinguished young researcher grant from the Swedish Research Council (VR) from 2013-2018.

  • I have been a developer in the IT++ project, an open-source C++ class library for scientific computing and simulation


Current Ph.D. students (as main advisor):


Graduated Ph.D. students (as main advisor, at LiU):

  • Marcus Karlsson (Lic. Eng. LiU 2016, Ph.D. LiU 2018)
    "Dissertation title: "Blind Massive MIMO Base Stations: Downlink Transmission and Jamming"
    Now with Veoneer AB, Linköping, Sweden.
  • Hei Victor Cheng (Lic. Eng. LiU 2016; Ph.D. LiU 2018)
    Dissertation title: "Optimizing Massive MIMO: Precoder design and power allocation"
    Now with University of Toronto, Toronto, Canada.

  • Christopher Mollen (Lic. Eng. LiU 2016; Ph.D. LiU 2018)
    Dissertation title: "High-End Performance with Low-End Hardware"
    Now with Apple Inc.

  • Antonios Pitarokoilis (Lic. Eng., 2013; Ph.D. LiU 2016)
    Dissertation title: Phase noise and wideband transmission in massive MIMO
    Now postdoc at KTH (Royal Institute of Technology), Sweden.

  • Hien Q. Ngo (Lic. Eng., 2012; Ph.D. LiU 2015) 
    Dissertation title: Massive MIMO: Fundamentals and System Design. 
    Now lecturer at Queens University, Belfast, UK.

  • Mirsad Cirkic (Lic. Eng., LiU 2011; Ph.D. LiU 2014) 
    Dissertation title: Efficient MIMO Detection Methods 
    Now with Ericsson, Linköping.

  • Johannes Lindblom (Lic. Eng., LiU 2010; Ph.D. LiU 2014) 
    Dissertation title: The MISO Channel as a Model for Non-Orthogonal Spectrum Sharing
    Now with FOI, Linköping.

  • Reza Moosavi (Lic. Eng., LiU 2011; Ph.D., LiU 2014). 
    Dissertation title: Improving the Efficiency of Control Signaling in Wireless Multiple Access Systems 
    Now with Ericsson Research, Linköping.

  • T.V.K. Chaitanya (Lic. Eng., LiU 2011; Ph.D., LiU 2013). 
    Dissertation title: HARQ Systems: Resource Allocation, Feedback Error Protection, and Bits-to-Symbol Mappings 
    Now with Huawei, Lund, Sweden.

  • Erik Axell (Lic. Eng., LiU 2009; Ph.D., LiU 2012). 
    Dissertation title: Spectrum Sensing Algorithms Based on Second-Order Statistics 
    Now with FOI, Linköping, Sweden.


Graduated Lic. Eng. students (at KTH):

  • Majid N. Khormuji (M.Sc., KTH 2006, Lic. Eng., KTH 2008) 
    (continued towards Ph.D. at KTH)

Show/Hide content


Show/Hide content

Show/Hide content

Read more
Show/Hide content

About the Division
Show/Hide content

About the Department
Show/Hide content