Physical electronics and nanotechnology

Fysikalisk elektronik och nanoteknik, chip och vätskor

Our research focuses on both the “bottom-up” and the “top-down” approaches in the field of physics and nanotechnology. 

The Physical Electronics and Nanotechnology research group, under the leadership of Docent Omer Nur and Prof. Magnus Willander has been exploiting device physics and technology by covering experimental and theoretical aspects for more than 25 years.

At present we use diverse methodologies for growth and design of nanostructures for different applications e.g. fabrication of light emitting diodes, laser, UV and infrared detector technology, photonic applications, medical application covering the extra and intracellular sensors and mechanical application.

In addition, our group has dedicated efforts for the characterization of both classical and quantum phenomena.

The research covers a broad range of topics in materials and devices. Both experimental as well as theoretical research has been conducted. At present, the main research general topics are on the growth, characterization, modeling and device realization of configurations based on nano-structures on different substrates. 

Our research is divided into four areas:
  • Growth of nanostructures and its composites
  • Nano-photonics
  • Bio-nanoelectronics
  • Nano-mechanics

Forskare i fysikalisk elektronik och nanoteknik i renrummet, Campus NorrköpingFoto: Thor Balkhed





Human abundant energy powers transmitting sensors

Human abundant energy powers transmitting sensors

Many of the mechanical motion form around us like, handwriting, foot pressure etc, can be used to gain useful electrical energy and signals. 

Principal investigator


Former staff

Chan Oeurn Chey, (2015)
Kimleang Khun, (2015)
Azam Khan, (2014)
Azar Sadollahkhani, visiting researcher , (2013-2014)
Ahmad Echrech, visiting researcher, (2013-2014)
Mushtaque Hussain, (2014)
Muhammad Yousuf Soomro, (2014)
Zafar  Hussain Ibupoto, (2014)
Mazhar Ali Abbasi, (2014)
Kamran ul Hassan, (2012)
Gul Amin, (2012)
Ahmed El Sharief Al Tahir, (2012)
Saima Zaman, (2012)
Syed Usman Ali Shah, (2012)
Sadaf Jamil Rana, (2012)
Nargis Bano, (2011)
Naveed ul Hassan Alvi, (2011)
Kishwar Sultana, (2011)
Muhammad Asif, (2011)
Muhammad Israr Qadir, (2011)
Alimujiang Fulati ,(2010) 
Riaz Muhammad, (2010) 
Lili Yang, (2010) 
P. Klason (2008) 
Zakaria Chiragwandi (2006) 
Tobias Myrberg (2004) 
P. Sundqvist (2003) 
A. P. Jacob (2002) 
H. Ouacha (2002) 
Y. Yousif (2001) 
T. Johansson (1998) 
A. Kindlihagen (1997) 
S. M. Cao (1997) 
Y. B. Wang (1997) 
O. Nur, (1996) 
A. Ouacha, 1995 
Q. Ul Wahab, (1994) 
A. Assadi (1994) 
M. Karlsteen, (1994)
Q. Chen, (1993)
G.D. Shen, (1991)
D.X. Xu, (1991)

Our division