The Institute for Analytical Sociology (IAS)

The researchers at the Institute for Analytical Sociology (IAS) conduct cutting-edge research on important social, political, and cultural matters. The research at IAS is sociological – in its original and broadly conceived meaning. The researchers at the IAS come from several academic disciplines.

Analytical sociologists seek to arrive at deeper understandings of social, political, and cultural processes

Analytical sociologists develop deeper, mechanism-based understandings of important social, political, and cultural processes.

Through a combination of agent-based simulations, social network analysis, and statistical models applied to survey, population register, social media, and text data, researchers at IAS seek to explain why people do what they do and the societal consequences of their behavior. In other words, we build detailed understandings of behaviors at the micro levels of individuals, families and firms, and relate these to empirical regularities—like segregation and inequality—at the macro levels of cities, states, industries, and beyond.

A considerable part of the research at IAS is concerned with individuals’ mobility within three important, interdependent socioeconomic domains: the labor market, the housing market, and the school system. This research area is concerned with the dynamic processes that lead to a concentration of individuals with certain socio-demographic characteristics in different workplaces, schools, and neighborhoods, and the consequences this has for organizations, institutions, and the individuals themselves. Combining micro-level statistical analyses with computer simulations is key to this research area.

Another core area of IAS research advances computational text analysis in sociology. Large-scale text analysis offers new ways to measure what people feel, think, and talk about. Researchers at IAS are using corpora of digitized texts as “social sensors” to understand meaning making in the context of widespread social change, including the European migration crisis, and the rise of new radicalized political movements. IAS research in this area focuses on the social dynamics of public discourses arising from interactions between the public, the media, and a country’s political actors as they react to current events.

IAS is an interdisciplinary research environment featuring faculty and affiliates from sociology, political science, philosophy, management studies, and statistics. The researchers deploy a variety of techniques from text mining, machine learning, network science, choice modeling, causal inference, and agent-based modeling. The disciplinary character of the institute makes it possible for IAS researchers to make innovative use of methods and analytical tools developed in other fields than their own.

IAS was established in 2014. It is administratively linked to the Department of Management and Engineering. Peter Hedström is the Director of the Institute and Jacob Habinek  and Marc Keuschnigg are the Deputy Directors. The institute is located in Central Norrköping, in the beautiful industrial landscape by the Motala River.

If you are interested in the relationship between Analytical Sociology and Computational Social Science, do read our article on the subject in the first issue of Journal of Computational Social Science 2018.

Here you find IAS channel on Youtube with seminars, lectures and interviews.

New article from IAS researcher
Show/Hide content

News from IAS
Show/Hide content

Research
Show/Hide content

Robert K Merton Fellowship
Show/Hide content

Events
Show/Hide content

Three representative articles
Show/Hide content

Books

Articles

Hedström, P. & Ylikoski, P. (2010). Causal mechanisms in the Social sciences. Annual Review of Sociology.

To article

Keuschnigg, M., Lovsjö, N. & Hedström, P. (2017). Analytical sociology and computational social science. Journal of Computational Social Science.

To article

Jarvis, B.F. & Song, X. (2017). Rising intragenerational occupational mobility in the United States, 1969-2011. American Sociological Review.

To article

Education
Show/Hide content

Courses

Contact us
Show/Hide content

Staff
Show/Hide content

Affiliated researchers
Show/Hide content

Ali Ahmed
Professor 
Linköping University
ali.ahmed@liu.se

David Andersson
Assistant Professor
Uppsala University
david.e.andersson@liu.se
website

Chanchal Balachandran
Postdoctoral researcher
Utrecht University
chanchal.balachandran@usi.ch
website

 

Peter Bearman
Professor
Columbia University
psb17@columbia.edu
Website

Love Börjeson
PhD
Director of KBLab, National Library of Sweden
love.borjeson@kb.se
Website

Francois Collet
Associate Professor
ESADE
francois.collet@esade.edu
Website

Guilherme Chihaya Da Silva
Research Fellow
Umeå University
guilherme.chihaya@umu.se
Website

Helen Eriksson
Research fellow
Stockholm University
helen.eriksson@sociology.su.se
Website

Thomas Grund
Associate Professor
University College Dublin
thomas.grund@ucd.ie
Website

 

 

Karen Haandrikman
Senior lecturer
Stockholm University
karen.haandrikman@humangeo.su.se
Website

Petter Holme

Professor
Sungkyunkwan University
holme@skku.edu
Website

 

Michael Hörnquist
Professor
Linköping University
michael.hornquist@liu.se

Aliaksei Kazlou
Research fellow
Linköping University
aliaksei.kazlou@liu.se,

Fabian Kratz
Postdoctoral researcher
LMU Munich
fabian.kratz@soziologie.uni-muenchen.de
Website

Måns Magnusson
Postdoctoral researcher
Aalto University
Website

Gianluca Manzo
Research Fellow
University of Sorbonne, CNRS
gianluca.manzo@cnrs.fr
Website

Robert D Mare
Professor
University of California, Los Angeles
mare@ucla.edu
Website

Tim Müller
Research Fellow
Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
t.mueller@hu-berlin.de
Website

 

Adis Murtic
Director Localization and Transfers
Siemens Industrial Turbomachinery AB
adis.murtic@liu.se

Sophie Mützel
Professor
Universität Luzern

 

Rebeca Ibarra Olivares
Research Fellow
Linköpings universitet
rebeca.ibarra@liu.se

 

Elizabeth Roberto
Associate Professor
Rice University
eroberto@rice.edu
Website

Ryszard Szulkin
Professor
Stockholm University
ryszard.szulkin@sociology.su.se
Website

Arnout van de Rijt
Professor
European University Institute, Florence
a.vanderijt@uu.nl

 

Anders Ynnerman
Professor
Linköping University
anders.ynnerman@liu.se

Richard Öhrvall
Postdoctoral researcher
Linköping University
richard.ohrvall@liu.se

Board of IAS
Show/Hide content

Address
Show/Hide content

Visiting Address

Kopparhammaren 7
Kungsgatan 56, Entrance 56D
Campus Norrköping

Postal Address

Linköping University
The Institute for Analytical Sociology
601 74  NORRKÖPING

Organisation
Show/Hide content