The Institute for Analytical Sociology (IAS)

The researchers at the Institute for Analytical Sociology (IAS) conduct cutting-edge research on important social, political, and cultural matters. The research at IAS is sociological – in its original and broadly conceived meaning. The researchers at the IAS come from several academic disciplines.

Analytical sociologists seek to arrive at deeper understandings of social, political, and cultural processes

Analytical sociologists seek to arrive at deeper and firmer understandings of important social, political, and cultural processes.

Through a combination of statistical analyses of big data bases, detailed micro research, computer simulations, and computer visualizations, the researchers at IAS seek to explain why people do what they do and the societal consequences of their behavior. The agent-based simulation models are used for understanding the links between micro behavior and macro dynamics. These sorts of simulation models also make it possible to conduct various “virtual societal experiments” that would have been impossible to conduct in reality. A considerable part of the research at IAS is concerned with individuals’ mobility in different markets - the labor market, the housing market, and the school market.

The main focus is on how these different markets intersect and influence one another. More specifically, we are concerned with the dynamic processes that lead to a concentration of individuals with certain socio-demographic characteristics in different workplaces, schools, and neighborhoods, and the consequences this has for the performance of the organizations and for the individuals themselves. The interdisciplinary nature of IAS makes it possible for its researchers to make innovative use of methods and analytical tools developed in other disciplines than their own.

IAS was established in 2014. It is administratively linked to the Department of Management and Engineering, but it has a university-wide mission and includes researchers from a range of different disciplines. IAS is governed by a board. Peter Hedström is the Director of the Institute and Benjamin Jarvis and Marc Keuschnigg are the Deputy Directors. You can find us in the beautiful industrial landscape by the Motala River in central Norrköping.

If you are interested in the relationship between Analytical Sociology and Computational Social Science, do read our article on the subject in the first issue of Journal of Computational Social Science 2018.

Peter Bearman visited the annual IAS symposium

Research

Robert K Merton Fellowship

Events

Three representative articles

Books

Hedström, P. & Ylikoski, P. (2010). Causal mechanisms in the Social sciences. Annual Review of Sociology.

To article

Keuschnigg, M., Lovsjö, N. & Hedström, P. (2017). Analytical sociology and computational social science. Journal of Computational Social Science.

To article

Jarvis, B.F. & Song, X. (2017). Rising intragenerational occupational mobility in the United States, 1969-2011. American Sociological Review.

To article

IAS in Social Media

Education

Programme

Courses

Contact us

Staff

Affiliated researchers

Ali Ahmed
Professor 
Linköping University
ali.ahmed@liu.se

David Andersson
Postdoktor
Uppsala University
david.e.andersson@liu.se
website

Karen Haandrikman

Universitetslektor/Senior lecturer

Stockholm University
karen.haandrikman@humangeo.su.se
website


Michael Hörnquist
Professor
Linköping University
michael.hornquist@liu.se

Anders Ynnerman
Professor
Linköping University
anders.ynnerman@liu.se

Richard Öhrvall
Postgraduate
Linköping University
richard.ohrvall@liu.se

Peter Bearman
Professor
Columbia University
psb17@columbia.edu
Website

Åsa Bråmå
Research Fellow
Linköping University 
asa.brama@liu.se

Francois Collet
Research Fellow
ESADE
francois.collet@esade.edu
Website

Thomas Grund
Research Fellow
University College Dublin
thomas.grund@ucd.ie
Website

Petter Holme
Professor
Sungkyunkwan University
holme@skku.edu
Website

Gianluca Manzo
Research Fellow
University of Sorbonne, CNRS
gianluca.manzo@cnrs.fr
Website

Robert D Mare
Professor
University of California, Los Angeles
mare@ucla.edu
Website

Tim Müller
Research Fellow
Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
t.mueller@hu-berlin.de
Website

Adis Murtic
Director Localization and Transfers
Siemens Industrial Turbomachinery AB
adis.murtic@liu.se

Rebeca Ibarra Olivares
Research Fellow
Linköpings universitet
rebeca.ibarra@liu.se

Ryszard Szulkin
Professor
Stockholm University
ryszard.szulkin@sociology.su.se
Website

Tiantian Yang
Research Fellow
Duke University
ty41@duke.edu
Website

Elizabeth Roberto
Postdoktor
Princeton University
eroberto@princeton.edu
Website

Guilherme Chihaya Da Silva
Research Fellow
Umeå University
guilherme.chihaya@umu.se

 

Board of IAS

Address

Postal Address

Linköping University The Institute for Analytical Sociology S-601 74  NORRKÖPING

Visiting Address

Kopparhammaren 2 Norra Grytsgatan 10 Campus Norrköping

About the Department